Tuesday, January 23, 2007

Marko Jaric: assist/turnover of 1.3


At the last Wolves game my friend tried to convince me that Jaric was no longer the piece of shit no-guard player that he was last year. At times I've seen spots of basketball intelligence from him, those times usually come just after he jumps into a passing lane to steal the ball in the open court. Jaric runs into the open floor at least two full strides ahead of the next guy on the other team, but by the time his over-sized, slow-ass gets into the paint he no longer has an open layup because the defender has caught up. At this point a wise veteran would pull the ball back and watch for the next teammate to make a cut to the rim--not Jaric, he jumps in the air on the baseline, turns his head around and throws the ball into the chest of the defender. He clearly has basketball awareness equivalent to the kind of trout that swim upstream by jumping out of the water and shaking. His offensive awareness is atrocious, he has no idea of where his teammates are on the floor and last season when he'd play the point, he always needed help in the backcourt just to dribble up the floor since the smaller guards would try to steal the ball. When he got in the frontcourt he'd stand around with his back to the 3-point line and waste shot clock time. He'd usually take a few dribbles forward and, because he thought that the defense was collapsing on him, he'd throw the ball like a hook shot over his head to a defended and mediocre 3-point shooter.


sometimes he even wears his jersey backwards youtube


Jaric's defense is comparably disgusting. Even though his height should make it easier to defend other guards, his complete lack of agility and quickness allow typical one and two-guards to always put him on his heels. At the same time he's not built well enough to defend the small-forwards with any semblance of a post-up game. He's kind of like Wally Sczerbiak in this respect, embarassingly white.

Jaric is dwarfed by the decisive powers of high school players, and he continues to show that for every good play he makes, he must commit one turnover, at least. He leaves his feet with the ball, attempts impossible passes, wastes shot clock time and is a huge defensive liability. On top of all those glaring character flaws, he's never afraid to showcase his cocky tough-guy personality. Thank God he doesn't start anymore, but I won't be satisfied until he's gone. Cut him, waive him, trade him for a sandwich or draft rights to me, I don't care, but please please just get rid of him.

No comments: